Confession #3 – Tasty Treats

Okay, they were just too tasty to resist.

At least they were fair trade, right?

Could I have avoided using this small amount of paper?  Most definitely!  Did I want to?  No, there were much too tasty!  Did I know that they were in paper before they were tossed to me at the back of the class?  Nope, but I could have (and probably should have) thrown them back.

Sinned again… off to confession.

But it was just a small amount, eh?  Two tiny little squares of paper wrapping, no more than a few centimetres across in each direction.  If I avoided one piece of A4 paper, it would be the equivalent of a whole box of chocolates, not just two.

Should they be too small for me to worry about?  They are tiny bit of paper, but if I accepted just small bits here and there, when do the small bits become large bits, and then massive bits?  Is it too slippery a slope to prevent me from sliding into the depths of relativism?

More to the point:  is this the system I am looking to change (paper used for chocolate wrappers) or is it a different system (paper use at university) that I should spend my time being concerned about and examining?  Chocolate wrapping is not my focus here in terms of paper use and is currently too daunting a system for me to change at this moment in time, but it does contravene my rules.  As little as it may be, I must avoid.  While I am not concerned that I will start abandoning rules all over the place, if I do give myself permission for this, what next?

It was my little indulgence.  Next time, they get tossed back.

Be paperless,

Micah

This entry was posted in Confessions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

